Gluten Free: Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken w/ Zatarains Dirty Rice

Posted: August 22, 2013 in Recipes

chicken

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken with Zatarains Dirty Rice

The original recipe called for  fried rice but I am so into making things easy!  So I substituted with Zatarains Dirty Rice.  Zztarains (ONLY!) is GF.  The other substitution I make is tapioca flour instead of cornstarch if the recipe calls for several eggs. Tapioca flour seems to have a little more *stick to it* than corn starch. Ben can not have eggs & this works better. So this is my version!  I am all about making it easy on me.

INGREDIENTS
3-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
3/4 cup cornstarch (or I like tapioca flour since Ben can’t have eggs)
2-3 eggs, beaten
salt & pepper to taste
1/4 cup canola oil

Sweet & Sour Sauce:
3/4 cup sugar
4 tablespoons ketchup
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
1 tablespoon Gluten-Free Soy Sauce (I have substituted Soy Sauce with Heinz Worcestershire Sauce.) Because I can’t find GF Soy Sauce
1 teaspoon garlic salt

Set oven to 325F. Spray a 9×13 with non-stick cooking spray.
1) Cut chicken breasts into cubes and season with salt/pepper to taste. Put cornstarch in a seal-able plastic bag; add chicken, seal well, shake to coat.
2) Heat canola oil in a large skillet on medium heat. Remove chicken from bag and dip in beaten eggs. Cook chicken in the skillet until slightly browned, but not cooked through. Remove from skillet and place in the prepared 9×13 dish.
3) Whisk together all ingredients for sweet & sour sauce until well mixed. Pour evenly over the chicken.
4) Bake chicken for 1 hour, turning chicken every 15 minutes (this helps to evenly glaze the chicken during baking).

Comments
  1. Now I shall have something to serve my friend when she comes over I never know what to do 🙂 as I can eat anything. Her husband has corn allergy or so their Chiropractor has told them 🙂

Tell us what you think :)

