Amish Apple Cake & The Farm!

Posted: September 1, 2012 in Recipes, What Matters Most
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This Amish Cake is not like the other Amish Apple Cakes that I have tasted in the past.  When I was searching the internet for recipes, I did not find this one.  No wonder it was so amazing! Thanks Vera for this recipe 🙂

We have just finished a week in the rural parts of Ohio with the most wonderful family!  The farm life was all American and I loved it. They even had a black Lab named Lexie that loved me.  I am so a dog person.  I posted a few pictures just to give you a view of where we were. The picture of the horses was taken right outside our bathroom window.  Now how amazing is that!  ~Jen

AMISH APPLE CAKE

  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • ¾ Cup Oil
  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp soda
  • ¾ Cup Pecans
  • 3 Cups Diced/Chopped Apples

Mix first 3 ingredients together.  Then add next 3 ingredients.  Add Nuts and Apples.   Bake at 350 degrees for about 1 hour.

 ICING (pour on when a tad bit warm)

  • 1 Cup confectioner Sugar
  • 1 T Karo syrup
  • 1 T Butter
  • 1 T Milk
  • Mix and spread on warm cake

. 

Grandpa’s Pride & Joy!

Comments
  1. cindyknoke says:

    Yes. I was in Kolona Iowa last year, visiting the towns where my husband’s family come from and many still live. My husband’s a Knoke originally from Knoke Iowa. In Kolona the Amish made us this cake, which I brought by plane, to my daughter in graduate school. It was the best I have had since a small child and I didn’t come from here. We also ate two dinners in Amana with the Amana Colonies cooking. My goodness, it was incredible. Admirable people. Incredible cooks! I have their cookbook. 🙂

Tell us what you think :)

