Kentucky has been steaming hot this year and so has the grill!  Since one family member is on a gluten free diet now, I have been trying new recipes…or adjusting old ones.  The other night, chicken was on the menu, but I was having to work on seasoning. A few minutes of searching on the internet I saw a recipe for Grilled Lemon-Honey Chicken Breasts, and it sounded just like what I was looking for. Even better, I could alter what I needed to make it gluten free!  And it was so delicious!!

As a side note – I love my Tupperware Quick Chef Chopper!  NO plugging into electric, NO bunch of pieces, NO messes!  A few twist of the handle and your vegetables are chopped!  Great for camping too! No, I don’t sell Tupperware.  (I had to run outside to take the picture, camera is on the blink! lol)

The best part about making your own marinade is that if you make it to suit your own taste! It’s your meal and your health.  That’s what matters!

Grilled Honey Soy Chicken

INGREDIENTS:

  •  4-5 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 medium onion, finely diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • Zest and juice of 2-3 lemons….
  • OR zest and juice of 1 medium-large lemon
  • 4 T  vegetable oil
  • 4 T honey
  • 2 T soy sauce

DIRECTIONS:

Split chicken breasts and, if necessary, pound to 3/4″ thickness; place into a shallow dish. Mix remaining ingredients together in a small bowl. Pour half the mixture over the chicken, and turn to coat. Refrigerate up to 4 hours; or let stand, covered, up to an hour. Pour remaining marinade mixture into a small saucepan, bring to a slow boil, and reduce until thickened (about two minutes). Reserve this for glazing during grilling.

Remove chicken from marinade, shaking off excess, and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Grill until thermometer registers 165F or better, brushing occasionally with reserved glaze. Remove from heat, cover with any remaining glaze, and let rest for 3-4 minutes before serving.

~Jen

Comments
  1. sybaritica says:

    I think I may try that this week… I’m putting together a new BBQ later today 🙂

Tell us what you think :)

