Contend For The Faith

Posted: August 12, 2012 in What Matters Most
Tags: , , , , , ,

He told me to contend for the faith that he has entrusted to me. To fight for and take care of the faith that has been delivered unto me. Jude 1:3 …”that ye should earnestly contend for the faith which was once delivered unto the saints. …”

Those words penetrated me with a simplicity and directness that I had never seen before. I’ve read this over and over, heard it preached many times but today God forced me to totally absorb that verse.

I’m to be totally intent in my actions to cultivate the faith God has given me. He has entrusted that faith to me and I am to develop it and to fight for it!

Why would He have been entrusted me with such an amazing gift? God knows exactly how many times I’ve failed him. How many times I’ve chosen to doubt Him yet He still says, I am set apart! Wow…He so believe in me!

There is nothing I can do that I could ever be worthy of such a gift so I will do my very best to “contend for the faith.”  I don’t ever want it to be said that I slid into heaven simply by the Grace of God but that I arrived contending for the One who died on the Cross for me!  Yes, I want to hand God my faith and stand before Him and know that it was a faith that was well contended for!

~Jen

Comments

Tell us what you think :)

