Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Pie

Posted: July 15, 2012 in Recipes
Tags: ,

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie reminds me of my Mom before I was adopted.  My 1st Mom died when I was 6.  Anyway, a neighbor spanked me with a hairbrush for picking her rhubarb so Mommy (a single Mom to 5 kids) could make us a pie 🙂 Needless to say that didn’t go over well with my Mom!

I always ‘cheat’ and use a store bought pie crust.  I will admit that I usually don’t care for the store brands.  I usually will choose one of the name brand deep-deep ones!

 

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Pie

Filling

  • 4 cups rhubarb, chopped
  • 2 cups strawberries, sliced
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • pinch of salt

Crumble Topping

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  1. Mix the filling ingredients together in a large bowl. Let sit for 30 minutes then pour into to prepared pie crust.
  2. Make the crumb topping:  In a small saucepan, brown the butter. In a small bowl mix the flour, sugar, nutmeg and salt together. Pour the browned butter over the flour mixture and stir together. Pour the crumb topping over the pie filling.
  3. Bake the pie at 400F for 20 minutes, then lower the temperature to 350F and continue baking for another 40 minutes, until the bubbles. The pie may leak, so place a baking sheet underneath the pie plate to avoid a messy oven.
  4. Let the pie chill completely before serving (at least 3 hours)

Tell us what you think :)

