( Pinterest)

I was adopted at age 6 by a family with strong roots in the ministry.  Every time the doors were open we were there in our pew.  My sister was the organist/pianist, my dad was the lay speaker, and my mother led every thing that had to do with women.  I sang in every choir whether adult or children and in every form of group there was. Eventually I was the pianist. I really did enjoy working and being in the church for the most part.

Now I’m married to a full time missionary/evangelist.  And this has been our life now for more than a quarter of a century.  Our precious children have been in the same position I was in all too many times.  There is no need to explain what all the duties of a ministry family entail!

All too often, ministry leads to burnout. One minute you are on “top of the world”. You’re influencing, mentoring, serving, speaking, writing, doing your “perfect family” image. Then the next minute, you are slap dab in the middle of  “ministry melt-down.”

You’ve been attacked, questioned, your children have suffered abusive comments, you’ve had to defend your husband, and it’s way too much to handle!  It’s time to step back and breathe a little. Doubt seeps in and I start asking, “Is this really what I am supposed to be doing?! Lord, I think you may want to rethink this one because Ms. Flapperjaws is going to get a piece of my mind!”  You know the ole “Don’t you dare touch my kids…thing!”  And with me, It’s the exact same way with my sweet husband!

God had to deal with Moses about this too. I for sure don’t want Him to have to set my beautiful hydrangea bush on fire to get my attention! So, I have to retreat from all the noise of the ministry and get alone with God and my family.  Even Jesus had to retreat from the crowds.  He withdrew to spend time with the Father.

If we don’t take the time to rest, our vision can become blurred.  At my age, my vision is getting blurred and I sure don’t want my Heavenly vision blurred too!

Mar 6:31  And he said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while: for there were many coming and going, and they had no leisure so much as to eat.

~Jen

Tell us what you think :)

