How many times have we seen this video? I think more important the question is, how many times I could watch this video? It is so much more than what we see! It’s not the beautiful girl with the astounding voice. It’s not the heavenly harmony; it’s not the worshipful peaceful music. It’s not the huge crowd surrounding them or the arena. These are all easily found in many places. This is Worship! Beautiful Worship!

Oh, Lord my God
When I in awesome wonder
Consider all the worlds Thy hands have made
I see the stars
I hear the rolling thunder
Thy power throughout
The universe displayed

“How Great Thou Art” begins as a poem written by Carl Boberg, as a summary of Psalm 8, as he walked home from church listening to the church bells ringing and observing the beauty of the creation around him one afternoon in the late 1800′s. It was a thunderous spring day and Carl was overcome with the sounds of the spring and the bells. It was a time of fierce persecution of the Baptists and the Mission Friends, who worshiped underground in Sweden at this time. They worshiped singing Boberg’s song.

The original lyric had a total of eight verses. Wow! Eight! Most praise and worship songs, if they have any verses at all, it is two and possibly with a key change and you just keep repeating the verses. But eight verses; eight different descriptions of the magnificence of God; eight verses concentrating on Him, His glory, His power, His majesty. These verses were not written with the emotional warm and fuzzy feelings of the writer but of the raw power of God!

Later, the Methodist missionary Stuart Hine added this verse.

And does this make our hearts want to shout Praise as we read or sing it? Yes, it does!

And when I think that God, His Son not sparing,
Sent Him to die, I scarce can take it in.
That on the cross, my burden gladly bearing,
He bled and died to take away my sin.

This is true worship!

Then sings my soul, my Savior God to Thee
How Great Thou art,
How Great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, my Savior God to Thee,
How great Thou art,
How great Thou art!

Now, Worship our Living King! ~Jen

(parts of this post is copyrighted)

Tell us what you think :)

