Macaroni and Potato Salad Dressing

Posted: June 21, 2012 in Recipes
Tags: , , , , , , ,

MACARONI & POTATO SALAD DRESSING

I lived among the Amish community for many years and have quite the collection of their tried and true recipes! This is the absolute BEST recipe for macaroni and potato salad I’ve ever tasted. Enjoy!!


1 beaten egg
½ cup sugar
1 tbsp. flour
½ cup water
½ cup vinegar
2 tbsp. butter
½ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. pepper

Combine in the order given, stirring after each addition. Boil until thick. Cool before adding to the salad.

Comments
  1. I have been Searching for this for years,Also looking for one using sweetened condensed milk!!!

  2. […] MACARONI & POTATO SALAD DRESSING I lived among the Amish community for many years and have quite the collection of their tried and true recipes! This is the absolute BEST recipe for macaroni and potato salad I’ve ever tasted. Enjoy!!Recipe link:findingyourblessings.wordpress.com […]

  3. […] MACARONI & POTATO SALAD DRESSING I lived among the Amish community for many years and have quite the collection of their tried and true recipes! This is the absolute BEST recipe for macaroni and potato salad I’ve ever tasted. Enjoy!!I found it here: findingyourblessings.wordpress.com […]

  4. I’ve used a variation of this that I got from friend that live in the very NW corner of New Jersey as regular salad dressing. The people call it Dutch Dressing, Supposed the German influence Dutch and Amish is there.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Wonderful tasting dressing thank you!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I have been looking for this for years!!! I worked in a restaurant where the chef made this dressing.

  7. Dandyspandy says:

    I have a similar recipe that I use for both salads like you do but also for a broccoli/cauliflower and salad. Delish! You can get that recipe on my blog: http://dandyspandy.blogspot.com/2014/06/what-cookin-broccoli-salad-with-cooked.html?m=1

  8. Vicki says:

    Just wondering how many pototoes and how much macaroni?

  9. Sandymags says:

    HOw do you think this would work over warm boiled potatoes with dill garnish

  10. Gina Gentry says:

    Hi! How many potatoes are used for the potato salad & how many pounds of the elbow noodles for the macaroni salad?

    Thanks!

  11. shirley says:

    How long did you boil it

  12. ginapooh35 says:

    Hi! I can’t wait to try this! How many pounds of potatoes are called for the Amish potato salad? Thanks!

  13. ginapooh35 says:

    Also, what are the red pieces that are in both Amish salads?

  14. ginapooh35 says:

    White or apple cider vinegar? 🙂

Tell us what you think :)

